Where’s my dog?

(Originally posted on Blipfillypicklepoo.blogspot.com on 1/9/2011 – when there was actually snow in winter.  As I edited the post for publication today, a small amount of ice/snow covers the neighborhood).

A little help

Last evening I was sitting in the living room enjoying the warmth of a new furnace and the good company of a friend when there was a knock at the door. Two rosy-cheeked, enterprising young boys – maybe 12 or 13 years old – snowsuits on, shovels in hands – offered to shovel my walk for $10 – $5 for each shoveler.  Snow had been coming down all day and, while I had earlier swept the first few inches off the stoop and front walk, another several were now on the ground and no end to the white stuff in sight.  My neighbor almost always includes me on his snow-blowing route and, as I was trying to come up with an answer for the boys, I saw him making his way down the sidewalk behind his souped-up snow removal machine.

The boys looked crestfallen as they told me they were trying to earn money so they could go tubing tomorrow at one of the county parks.  In spite of money not growing on trees (yet!), I realized that it would be helpful to have the walk to my garage and the alley-access driveway cleared off.  Their smiles alone were probably worth the 10 bucks.  They made quick work of it and even shoveled off my front steps which the neighbor’s snow blower doesn’t reach.  One of the boys expressed concern about the ice on the porch and front steps, asked if I had any ice melt and then quickly treated the treacherous area. I paid them, thanked them and…

… woke up the next morning to the loudness of utter silence. Almost three feet of new snow thickly blanketed my porch, the walk and everything else in sight muting even the most commonplace sounds of chirping birds and the city bus.  Nothing was moving outside. My phone rang and I picked up to hear my sister ask how I felt about my $10 investment – knowledge she gained when she called me while the boys were shoveling last night . Thinking of their smiling faces and the possibility of a legendary tubing experience for those boy, I told her I felt pretty darn good.

With that feeling, I peeled myself out of bed to let my dog out for her morning constitutional.  I opened the door to the backyard, saw that the snow was level with my back porch; the back yard is two deep steps down from the porch.  Then my dog disappeared – one second she was leaning out the back door to see what all the white was about, the next second – POOF – no dog.  I saw her nose poke out from the snow about 6 feet from the back steps and heard a hearty “ARROOOO!?” – her version of “What the heck is going on?” Her nose appeared in different spots in the yard, each time with an accompanying howl. It was probably funnier for me than it was for her. I ran to put on some jeans, a thick sweater and get my boots on so that I could dig her out before I lost her ’til spring.

I had to do a fair bit of digging to clear a space for her and to make some paths to safely get out of the  house if I needed to.  My dog wandered up and down the walk between the house and the garage trying to see over the walls of snow on either side.  Her normal routine is to exit the house, run to the very back of the lot and then patrol the yard and comment loudly to any other dogs in the neighborhood.  She looked caged in, haunted even, and was clearly not having any fun.  She made one courageous dive into a massive drift only to pop out again a moment later covered in flakes and shaking her head in consternation. Shoveling the yard to accommodate my dog left me wondering a little at the wisdom of having a dog (or living in a region famed for its “lake-effect snow machine”), but she seemed to appreciate it.

We got back in the house, soggy and cold from our efforts.  No dummy, she immediately walked to the heat vent in the living room, curled up in front of it and went to sleep. Snowbound, I spent the weekend being unforgivably lazy (with the exception of shoveling), watching movies, making unwise food choices and being very grateful for a home, good neighbors,  and a silly dog that makes me laugh – A LOT.

4 thoughts on “Where’s my dog?

    • Thanks. We’re under a “winter storm advisory” from tomorrow morning until Monday morning. Thankfully I just went to the grocery so I’m golden if we get snowed in. You stay warm too, kid! Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

